Race Articles

Race Articles

2015 President's Trophy Air Race

The 2015 President's Trophy is being held at New Tempe, Bloemfontein from 28 to 30 May 2015.

Watch this space for more announcements.

Full results
Click HERE for the detailed results.

Entry Forms
New Entrants - Click here to apply for an entry form. Please note the pilot needs 200 hrs PIC to be eligible to fly in the race (or 100hrs PIC if the navigator is a licensed pilot.

Provisional program

Arrivals New Tempe Airfield by 13:00 for registration and sqrutineering.
17:30 Briefing @ Airfield
19:00 Steak & Chip evening @ Bloemfontein Flying Club

2014 President's Trophy Air Race

The 2014 President's Trophy was held at Gariep Dam from 29 to 31 May 2014.

Final Results attached below

2013 President's Trophy Air Race

By Athol Frans
It is always great when a well-managed plan comes together even if the venue for the PTAR was far away from the traditional hub of South African aviation in the picturesque town of Oudtshoorn in the Western Cape. The club members of this small but vibrant flying club can be proud of the splendid organisation, quality of food, superb gala awards dinner and friendly atmosphere we the visitors experienced in Oudtshoorn. The total distance flown on day one was 284.17 nm and on day two was 288.16 nm. The overall results have been published (see link below). The first three overall results are:

2012 President's Trophy Air Race

The 2012 President's Trophy Air Race was held at Upington 24 to 26 May 2012

1st Place - Race 76 ZU-JHA Vans Rv-6 Alewyn Burger, Chris Ferreira
2nd Place - Race 12 ZS-KJB - Cessna 210N Willie Griessel, Boebie Hattingh
3rd Place - Race 3 Zs-IBX - Beech E33 Johan Doubell, Jannie Visser

Full results, trophies, routes, exclusions and penalties now attached

2011 President's Trophy Air Race

The 2011 President's Trophy Air Race was hosted by the Beauchamp-Proctor Flying Club at Mafikeng International Airport from 26 to 29 May 2011.

The winners were William Devine and Carina Bekker in ZS-KPU, an Aero Commander 500-B.
President's Trophy handed to winnersPresident's Trophy handed to winners

■ Refer to the attached articles for a report on the event - thanks to SA Flyer

■ Full results now available with leg by leg times